Mc World

Been in limbo for a day. Bed is a refuge.

The light of sunset drowns out the noise.

The lovers walk hand in hand, while I watch from my window.

Longing for someone, yet the desire for love doesn’t exist.

The words of wisdom no longer make sense.

Who do you believe? The sane? Who defines sanity?

If the shoe fits wear it, if it feels good it is good.

Live for the day, what I need I get, what I get I

Want more. Choice no longer exists, only wants and desires.

 

“I’m fed up. It’s not just life, but the fact that I am no longer a person but a victim of consumption.”  “Run of the mill scares the hell out of me”; said the two homeless vagabonds playing chess with their buddies in the summer sun of the city park. “Me too”, says his scruffy, unkempt counterpart. With their shopping cart of possessions these lonesome hobos have it better than us cooped up in our rented downtown apartments with our air conditioning and leather sofas with the hire purchase TV set and DVD player complete with the latest releases of Hollywood tripe that infects and taps into our subconscious controlling our every thought and action. Action that is now determined by images beamed from the heavens, but conceived and contrived in the conniving quarters of the oligopolies and freewheeling masters who control us with sinister smiles and cartoon characters with their theme parks. It is becoming impossible to tell where the theme park begins and the world ends as both conglomerates into one.

 

       I had a dream. In this dream I have chosen destitute poverty as the only means of escaping being ensnared by the environs of evil and greed. What Lennon spoke of, no possessions I give it a go, to see if its true. The freedom of poverty has carried me far, I sit on my own in a bar. Working when I need to on hand to mouth, I ask the bar tender to alleviate my drought. It wasn’t long until we got engaged in a conversation, whether it was of a deep and thought provoking nature or just some drivel about the weather I can’t remember. It’s not the issue, the point is that there was someone there to listen to me when I needed it. Yes, he was only a random stranger getting paid to serve drinks while he studies for a better job but who cares.  He was there for me and spoke to me when nobody else was. There was no need for counsellors or self help courses- just a bit of human kindness. If we could all just be a bit more human things would be so much better.

The western world is supposedly a Christian world where we have ‘Christian values’. Christian values were summed up by Christ in Matthew 22: 37-39, “Thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind. This is the first and great commandment. And the second is like unto it, Thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself.”

So practically we have to love God first and our neigbour second. This doesn’t bode well for there are those who are pretty nasty to their neigbours but it doesn’t matter as they are great buddies of the supreme being.


Humanists make sense of the world using reason, experience and shared human values. They seek to make the best of the one life we have by creating meaning and purpose for ourselves. We take responsibility for our actions and work with others for the common good.
  There are too many people in our society who take advantage of others usually for their own economic advantage. I want to live in a more humanist society not a Christian powerblock.

Like the bar man that just said a few simple words don’t get down by life get up by living it. There are many distractions but basically we have a choice- Get busy living or get busy dying.

 

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

